By now, most people in the running community and even a few outsiders have heard or read about the mishap that occurred at the US 2026 Half Marathon Championships in Atlanta. With about two miles left in the race, the female leaders, who were well ahead of the pack, were led off course, resulting in those in back ultimately crossing the finish line before the misdirected runners could make up lost time.
Almost immediately, the media and pundits, or self-proclaimed experts online, commented before USATF had even issued a statement. One so-called expert, in particular, David Roche, absolutely lost his shit and has been carrying on ever since.
It turns out that the lead female, Jess McClain, decided not too long ago to work with Roche, a questionable decision in my eyes, but to each their own. I'm not sure why anyone would work with Roche when he has taken on at least one athlete who has served a doping ban. His write-ups about training, threshold runs, and coaching in general are questionable, some calling them over-simplistic and others calling them flat-out wrong, but again, people can choose to work with whomever they please.
I'll skip over McClain's jaw-dropping progression that landed her in elite territory...ahem, and focus more on the resulting circus in response to what went down. I wonder if anyone quick enough to bitch and moan before any information was revealed feels any different now that it has been noted that the reason the lead car veered off course was because it was responding to a call about an officer down. I suspect not, at least not the ones who went absolutely apeshit. Narcissists gotta narcissist, after all. A foot race is far more important than anything else in some circles.
Despite McClain handling the situation with at least some grace, given this was a selection race and one with prize money, money, money, her coach did anything but, showing he's not a great representation of his athlete. Several individuals argued that runners should have the course memorized, while others insisted that athletes in the lead are too focused on their efforts to remember complicated courses with multiple turns. I would agree with the latter and think most do; however, I wouldn't so quickly dismiss those arguing otherwise and treat them like garbage. It's as easy to say, "Here's why that's not the best solution," and present an opinion as it is to call others idiots and their ideas trash.
I was notorious for going off course when I ran, so it was helpful to have the course marked or a lead vehicle to follow. I actually veered off course in the state meet in high school. Luckily, the other girls who followed me and I were able to get back on track quickly. I won the race, probably because the adrenaline kicked in when I realised I was going to have to catch up to the new leaders once I turned around. But I digress.
Roche was quick to publicly blast anyone suggesting runners know the course. Arguing online is fine, but when you promote yourself as being part of a husband-and-wife team that's all about fun, inclusion, community, and kindness, tearing people apart in the bitchiest way possible doesn't really fit the brand.
What's worse, though, is that he and his wife took to their podcast to bitch even more. Early in the episode, Roche admitted that he enjoyed making fun of the "idiots" online, meaning those who disagreed with him on this issue. You can hear the excitement in his voice as he inches further up his already too-tall horse. In that same episode, Roche boasts about his lawyer background and how this will help him navigate the situation for his athlete, but neglects to mention that his license was suspended in 2020 for reasons unknown.
Most people agree that McClain deserved the win and all that goes along with it. USATF came out with a statement of sorts, basically avoiding the blame as much as possible and assuring everyone that the organization is working on a solution. In the meantime, others in the race have acted with honor and dignity, some even offering to give up their spot so that the three misdirected runners could advance to the race in Copenhagen as part of the world team. The Atlanta Track Club tried to take at least some responsibility and even offered to throw some cash at the problem in case that might help. It sounds like everyone will be compensated appropriately, financially at least.
Fiasco aside, I just can't imagine hiring a coach who would call others who simply disagree idiots and then boast about it on a podcast. When I think of some of the best coaches, past or present, it makes me laugh trying to picture them responding in such an out-of-control, childish, and emotional manner. It is not a good look. And shame on him. There's no need to be a dick. His reaction makes me wonder what's going on with all the misdirected hostility and intense chatter.
I have to wonder if the top three finishers would have been as eager to relinquish their World Champs spots had this happened in the pre-social media era. The three who were sent off course were so far ahead of everyone else so late in the race that their finishing 1-2-3 was virtually assured, so maybe the three who officially wound up on the podium would have been just as generous back in the 1990s. But there is no question they faced a great deal of pressure to step aside thanks solely to Instagram, X, and so on.
ReplyDeleteThe fact that cartoonish and clownish figures like the Roches, Nikki Hiltz, Alison Wade, Allie Ostrander, and Molly Seidel are not just tolerated but widely regarded as idols and bona fide visionaries implies that distance running has become a powerful magnet for low-IQ, unethical, reality-spurning, pro-cheating scammers and the dupes those scammers prey on. This is not something I foresaw happening two decades ago, but the way things are now -- and this is not a joke -- one would be far more likely to find a group of honest, intelligent, and personable people at a prostitute convention in Washington, D.C. than at a marathon expo, trail race, or Boulder, Colorado fun-run.
Also, Jess McClain said on some podcast a few weeks ago that she has never run more than 75 miles a week. That makes her 2:25 marathon as well as her late-onset 10,000-meter proficiency in the face of static 1,500-meter and 5,000-meter times all the more...impressive. I'm sure it's just the positive Roche vibes and the "new" shoes that have been around since Trump's first term; after all, no woman distance runner with a Stanford pedigree has ever said or done anything suspic...oh.
Make no mistake; Roche whining about Jess' misfortunate was more about advancing himself than her. Roche had the audacity to claim his shit-podcast episode (over 1 hr 30 min in length) was a call to action to USATF, and tagged them. The sheer HUBRIS! It's clear why he is no longer a lawyer -- it took 40 minutes of the episode for him to make his case regarding Jess, with most of it being emotional garbage. He basically claimed USATF would have acted differently if it had been the mens' race -- and though that's a possibility, he offers no proof. Much lawyer. All he did was say how much Jess deserved the win -- which true -- but didn't bother to logically investigate the current rules.
ReplyDeleteI felt for Jess -- though my story pales in comparison, I took a wrong turn and missed a half marathon win and age group PR a few years back.
Like any narcissist, Roche is insecure, and can't handle criticism of any kind. He claims to be all about love and joy (HUZZAH), but I sensed from the beginning that it was all fake.
💯💯💯
Delete